top of page

A new shoe obsession (I have a few of these...)

Okay I always used to promise myself that I'd never be one of those shoe fanatics that rant and rave endlessly about footwear. My first proper obsession was the scarf, and I thought i'd just stick to that, but eventually it went on to belts, cravats, watches, driving gloves, bracelets, then struck gold with socks, and then FINALLY moved to shoes. So in short, you can rest a little easier knowing that I won't rant about Manolo Blahnik and Miu Miu and Roger Vivier like seemingly every other fashion blogger on the planet, for the simple reason that in terms of shoes i have the gender card to play. In terms of mens shoes though, I will adamnatly say that a John Lobb creation is a work of art, a Lanvin sneaker can never go wrong, and anything shoe-related with a tassel actually gives me goosebumps of excitement (Me? a Dork? Stfu you were absolutely warned). Anyway back to this new shoe obsession...It's actually not so new. They're suede slip-ons with a leather sole by a rather popular brand known as Aquila, and I saw them in their full priced store a few months back. I was undoubtedly salivating from first sight, but not so much over the price tag: $350. To their credit they are made in Italy from impeccable materials and excellent looking craftsmanship. The price wasn't even that shocking, but it was just the fact that I've always thought Aquila was a slightly more economic priced shoe brand, (good quality good price that sort of thing) so I was expecting a bargain and couldnt quite get my head around the price. My rather logical friend with me at the time also told me to wait a few months and they'd proceed to the outlet.

So basically i discovered them at the outlet today, half a size too big but in mint condition (i'll wear two pairs of socks for all i care) and reduced to $200, which actually puts it within a good range for my half-stingy/half-unreasonably-decandent-spendthrift way of thinking. So they're at the top of my purchase list and i'll hopefully be posting an Instagram picture of me wearing them imminently

Btw apologies for no actual link to the shoes but they're no longer on the Aquila website, "so last season bitches!" but tons of other great shoes are... (when did i become an ad, I'm not even getting paid!?) so i've made a link to reach their Australian site (you know, for anyone that can't type...)

bottom of page