top of page

The "What to Wear" Dilemma just for going to work?

Coat: Politix

Jumper: Henry Bucks of Collins Street

T-shirt: Vivienne Westwood

Scarf: (Thailand Market Bargain)

Jeans: Emporio Armani

Shoes: Giorgio Armani

So I'm not entirely sure whether I'm allowed to mention my workplace in writing online (on facebook the damage is soo already done), and I'm scared to ask so i'll just leave it nameless: which of course makes is sound so much more sexy and mysterious than it actually is. But as mentioned previously it's a store in the CBD of Melbourne. And even writing it now I realise how stupid a dilemma this is, but even though i'm given a store uniform (charcoal pinstriped suit, white shirt) I still go through the closet-destroying ocd-nervous-breakdown-inducing messy process every work morning of deciding what to wear!!!

It's Literally getting on the train and strolling through the city (an hour there and an hour home), but, being me, I have to think out a list of possibilities from this outfit. For example, what if someone texts during the middle of a shift wanting to do coffee after work. Suddenly i need to look acceptable for it? What about drinks at a bar? And the most horrid possibility of getting invited out to a club after finishing my work shift and actually NOT BEING A NUN and going??? *multiple shudders*. And I could bring the weather into the equation, but there's always that constant clause: We live in Melbourne: meteorology's royal clusterf%*k, and therefore, whatever the weather predictions are for the day, you must absolutely layer for any contingency...

Luckily, when the layering process begins each additional piece of clothing seems to morph me into a perfect picture of apropos for any post-shift social occasion....this is assuming i've had my double espresso of course, otherwise it's a much slower thought process.

And the so-called dilemma is easily solved once Matthew opens his mind and thinks it through, what a phenomenal shocker...

By the way, just as a sidenote, I usually make a point of trying to dress a little less generically than in this picture, but I decided for a first ootd post I should probably make a point of utilising my wardrobe in a way that reflects both trend and my personal style (in lieu of the updated American Gigolo look i've usually got going ;)

END HYPE WIDGET

bottom of page