top of page

Wishlist: Autumnal Demure Dressing

So I actually managed to survive last week at uni and make it through to Easter. It's what i've been so caught up with the last couple of weeks, and I apologise for having been so bare with the posts here, it's been hectic to say the very least! Sleep and food have been expenses often impossible to find time for and social niceties just seem to go out the window making way for #crazystressednutcasematthew, a very scary fellow who you don't want to get in the way of. Basically what last week of uni was included handing in about six projects all at once and a few class presentations. Combine that with work deciding to put me on a full set of Friday-Monday shifts non-stop and you have a version of myself that freaks me out to think of. Anywayyyyy, I survived through it, and now i've got a few days of chocolate-loading ahead (HAPPY EASTER!) as well as a week off uni. So I can officially recoup and actually work a tad more leisurely getting the rest of my uni stuff together and posting good content on here :)

Hence my first blogged and published Wishlist. One of a series of techniques that I often utilise to help me cope with stress or overly emotive scenarios: there's just something about retail therapy that calms to my oh-so-materialistic soul. Behold!

Be still my palpitating heart! These shoes are a work of art to me, i just find them absolutely

exquisite, everything from the subtle perfect tone to the Handcrafted finishes which just

scream of fine quality. I discovered this brand today and I don't think i'll be praying anywhere

else for my leather slippers anytime soon.

I've been interested in Milanese brand MSGM for quite a while, because their designs seem to

be what's setting every trend off (or otherwise will soon be). They keep their prints interesting

and their colours vivid and beautiful, and amongst the clashing patterns and printed

sweatshirts I fell in love with the classic simplicity of this crew neck striped jumper, timeless

enough to be worth the cost, yet on-trend enough with the colour (please PLEASE look

for yourself and take in their awesomeness)

I fully admit to being a stripe fanatic, and also one to trends, but when designer items (and

designer prices) occupy my mind, i need to deliberate a little more closely before buying,

thinking less of the current fads and more of how long i'll keep something, and how it suits

my personality. My bank account doesn't allow for spur of the moment designer

purchases that I could regret, so I need something i'll LOVE and always LOVE. This piece fits

the bill perfectly, it's honestly the sort of thing I imagine handing down to my son one day.

I'm absolutely dying to get my hands on anything from this phenomenal New York brand.

I don't deny the rarity of bowler hats in Melbourne: there just isn't the sort of climate

that's accomodating enough. I have to say though, something about this particular one just

makes me want to make the extra effort and become a full time hat guy, temperatures and

funny stares be damned. I don't know exactly what it is, maybe the shape, maybe the

petersham ribbon trim, maybe the connotation with finely tailored bankers of times long

gone...

When I look at the Vianel ad campaigns they somehow manage to impart the sexy look into

an actual feeling for me. That's right, Vianel products will make you feel like a sexy classy

master of the universe. Nothing could expemplify it more than this cognac coloured lizard-

skin card holder. A must have alternative for a full wallet on nights you're out at RU-CO in a

slim-fitting suit. I can almost smell the subtle hint of Black Amexes and Espresso Martinis

In case you didn't know, one day sometime soon, I plan on having a borderline obscene

collection of Lanvin Flower Pins. In every hue and half-hue, in every powdery tone and bright

pattern, they are absolute necessity in my wardrobe. In my opinion they're the perfect

epitome of the modern gentlemen, elegant with the hint of levelheadedness (not as decadent

as daily bouttonieres but just as amazing). Form a set of groups calmly to pitch in for birthday

presents....

Behold the new IT bag, already selling out worldwide (trust me to be the last one to get

onto the bandwagon). Admittedly it's mainly female customers going gaga over this beauty,

but I have to admit I want one: from the useful versatile shape to the discreet branding to the

amazing IT bag price (cough cough Birkin, not gonna happen for a while). I can imagine putting

a hole right in the very end of the shoulder strap to make it very very short and then carry

the bag like a shopper tote, but honestly I think any length would be suitable. It's an all

rounder and I think in that case it makes it defy gender (look at me, smashing glass ceilings

one IT bag at a time :P)

There's something about suede garments that has always scared me a little bi It just seems

so willfully decadent (coming from me that's something...), but at the same time serious. I

think it's a definite look, and i've just been that bit apprehensive to give it a go. So upon

seeing this I thought it would be a nice discreet way to foray into suede clothing. The colour I

just find lovely and it looks like the sort of beginners discreet one would hope for before

investing a pile of money on something that's over the top and then never worn again. It

feels like the best lesson to start off with is going demure and then building confidence in

pieces that look good on you

I would like to seriously pose the question to you: how much more dandy could you possibly

get with this? I mean what could be more cool than having your favourite animal as the

handle to your umbrella, that way, if you're in London and away from the Country House and

its enormous stables for the week, you can at least find animalistic company with your

umbrella (am i right.....anybody???) They can also do Dogs Heads, Serpents, Lions, Eagles,

Jaguars and Skulls (for the die hard McQ fan)

Lanvin always does amazing men's sneakers, that's a given. This season however, they've

taken it to an extraordinary new level of urban sophistocation, putting Converse-wearers

everywhere to shame. With a recent influx of brogues and loafers, i've taken to not wearing

my sneakers as they don't seem to gel with my current style. That was before these, and

they've just became the answer to my smart-casual prayers, with the calf skin crafting

ensuring they won't be copied by any fast-fashion retailers, these are relatively ensured of

bona-fide unusual masculine fashionability

bottom of page