top of page

A quick run through of my two (ABSOLUTE) most adored London Menswear S/S2015 Shows. Plus, Uni Holida

London Spring/Summer Menswear Collections have just wrapped up. Whilst another post covering the rest of the (NUMEROUS) collections will be up imminently, I wanted to write up something quickly about my two absolute favourite ones of the entire season. Everything from the colours to the fits to the materials to the models (gasp/giggle/swoon) was complete and utter perfection and a London style that managed to reference the classic but at the same time be something so new and wonderful in menswear. Ladies and Gentlemen, I present to you Gieves & Hawkins of Savile Row, and Burberry Prorsum. Without a doubt my two favourite (OF ALL TIME) mens collections from London.

Designer Jason Basmaijan is in his third season at the famed Savile Row bespoke tailor, having come from Brioni previously. American-born and Italian-educated, he not only gave the Gieves and Hawkins' latest collection the British revamped traditional look that the entire world is falling in love with, but also peppered the looks with a carefully tailored and meticulous modernity that would easily appeal to the expanding list of international clientele. There were inspirations from Cornwall and Dover, showing through in some of the captivating blues and teal tones. To be blunt, who needs blue suede shoes when you can do blue suede jacket!?! The collection was given so many amazing personalities, it's actually very confidence-blooming to behold: the idea that you can go from smart-casual in collared jumper, shorts and espadrilles with mega tote: to a suede jacket and fitted trousers and lunettes, and then again to an immaculate three-piece suit! The flow of the collection was amazing, and I have no doubts that every gentleman sitting in the audience wants to be a Gieves & Hawkins man through and through.

Quick shout out to the amazing white suit, it looks like it's been plucked straight out of Dickie Greenleaf or Sebastian Flyte's closet. A true triumph Mr. Basmaijan!

How could Burberry not make a fan of any self-respecting dandy with a collection like this! It was inspired by the author Bruce Chatwin, who travelled the world extensively, and did so assumedly with coat pockets full of notebooks and enormous artists sketch books. This collection just spoke everything to me: it had an alluring aura of adventure, excitement, globetrotting and challenge. All while being decked out in beautiful suedes and gabardine, with whimsical linens and t-shirts imprinted with History of English Tailoring and Forts & Castles in the British Isles: covers of books Christopher Bailey apparently found at a flea market. Beautiful additions of pashmina style scarves, undoubtedly in the house's amazing scottish cashmere, along with leather printed folio covers and satchels, made for a terrifically thrown together look that any real life rushed adventurer could only wish for whilst trapsing around hills lakes and forests looking for the catch of inspiration. My absolute favourite looks were that first and last ones shown in the image above: any dedicated reader on this blog knows just how much I love those colours and although I know it's impossible for me to pull off a hat like that, I want to try all the more. Unfortunately still can't get myself to be a fan of the tailored look with sneakers, but I don't know if any collection can change that, Chanel Haute Couture couldn't, so i can't expect Burberry to either.

So so many pieces I want from this collection, it was just overall utterly masterful and a true journey for menswear! Along with every other well-dressed aspiring traveller, I think that i can easily say we're all more than happy to be along for the ride! <3

...................................................................................................................................

In other news, i'm back and i'm actually alive. Many apologies for another lapse without a decent post, or any post really. I know the uni excuse is running dry right about now so i'll just let you all know i'm finally finished with my uni semester and so i can properly dedicate time to this each day now. (I can just imagine you've all been waiting with bated breath [soaked in sarcasm]). It's been a busy semester but unfortunately i wasn't as organised as i hoped i'd be and so a couple of important things were left to the last couple of days :S it all came together in the end though thank heavens!So my task for the holidays is getting my life into shape and making sure the same mistake doesn't happen again. Let me tell you know: plodding through a folio at five in the morning scared to shivers that you won't get it done in time is not where i'd rather be.

All the late nights and work gave me plenty of time to think properly about my priorities though, and also how i'd let myself get slowed down and distracted by some of the goings on at home or elsewhere outside-uni. Although help was on offer for if i really needed it, i have to admit i had moments of apprehension, for the simple idea, that if i ever become a successful designer one day, I won't be able to call my show guests the night before and say "Life is stressful, i haven't gotten around to finishing the collection you're waiting for". So help is always there for those who need it within the uni space, and im sure in the work space as well. But i realised that it's more than ever a reason to throw myself into my work. I should never slow down on achieveing my dream. That's basically what the whole obsessive self-cultivation and organisation process in my life has become, it's just me trying to forge myself into a designer. At the minute it still feels like trial and error, refusing to give up yet though hahah. <3

bottom of page