top of page

"Who will play mother, and pour the tea?"

It's been a rather tough week to be honest. My family and I had to say goodbye to a lovely woman who was basically an unofficial grandmother to my brothers and I. With just two days notice before her passing it was a tough reminder on just how important it is to cherish life's beautiful moments and all of the people that truly matter. I won't go into details but she will be sorely missed and remembered always.

There was also a lot of homework to get through in the meantime: some of my earlier design toiles needing to be completed and selecting the perfect final for my fashion studies essay. Burn brochures and textile journals. I can readily confess i feel exhausted. So it was really lovely to sit down after work for some tea and cake with the September Issue and take out some notepaper from my new Bottega Veneta man-clutch, just to read and write in some peace. I ended up starting some music in the dining room: playing Stan Getz, João Gilberto and Perez Prado and just spending a perfectly decadent hour just reading and getting re-energised for another busy week to come. Before beginning a movie night with my lovely mum I also got the chance to watch the amazing new J'adore Dior film. As always the utterly magical Charlize is immaculate and graceful and this time with the lithe movements and poise of an acrobat. I was utterly amazed to see how they've taken such an icon of a fragrance and added another layer of modernity to it yet again, as she climbs from the gilded and beautiful trappings of Versailles into the horizon of a modern city. It was nice to throw some thoughts to the future in a positive light, and all of it's possibilities...

Wishing you lovely bunch a fantastic new week, and make sure you all take a little time to spoil yourselves :)

Watch the J'Adore Dior New 2014 Film here!

bottom of page