top of page

I had a Met Gala Dream...


The Met Gala has always carried with it the allure of fantasy: the very stuff of dreams. It's the perfect evening in which all of the a la mode elite come together in a marvellous cocktail of champagne crystal clinking and camera flash glamour. I like to imagine that above the yelling and beckoning of the paparazzo's, one wistful bystander can hear the whisperings between socialites and editors, actresses and fashion's highest patrons as they trade style secrets and beauty tips that the rest of the world has yet to learn. I've oftentimes conjured up the fantastical notion that this is the night a beginning designer's career can be made. Most of the time though, it's sadly not the case, with many of the red carpet personalities wearing designers that are already very well profiled and known around the world. This year however actually opens up the possibility for something a little different...

The theme is China: Through The Looking Glass. Which I'm sure I don't have to tell you makes me a very happy boy. I've been obsessed with China for years, from the antiques to the ultramodern cities to the contemporary culture infused with the adherence to tradition and the desire to move forward, but as well as this the fashion scene is something that it really and truly starting to come into it's own, and it has my full and undivided attention. There are so many wonderful facets of the culture in which to take inspiration from in design, and watching the melange of Chinese glamour draped over the cavalcade of the World's fashion elite will be a sight to behold.

And so I would really adore seeing some previously hidden gem of a designer explode into a supernova before the eyes of the whole fashion world on Monday Night. All of this to the background ambience of perhaps Chuiwan, White+, or Re-Tros (or perhaps for the sake of inspiration Imogen Heap's Xizi She Knows), with the Beijing-based group Nova Heart entertaining guests live inside with their catchy electro-pop tunes. Every year there's one or possibly two of the Met Gala Gowns and Suits that take my breath away, and I really hope somebody's dreams are made true on the night. I pray that a star steps out onto the carpet in a dress of such phenomenal and industry-altering style-defining magnitude that a hush goes across the crowd: one that stuns photographers and guest alike, so that the only sound you can hear are the Couture beaded trains sweeping across a red carpet so lush that the handcrafted soles of the Vivier stilettos threaten to disappear entirely. That's my dream, and I hope we can see a moment similar to that on the night. Because if it's possible for any one of them, it's possible for any one of us....

保持时尚之心


bottom of page